fashion awards 2023 mona tougaard
Mona Tougaard

Nominees announced for the Fashion Awards 2023

05 Sep 2023 | Updated on: 05 Dec 2023 |By Zoe Gunn

Another stellar line-up is promised for British fashion’s biggest night out

The British Fashion Council has announced the nominees for the Fashion Awards 2023 – the UK’s headline event recognising the talent of British fashion houses, designers and industry talent. Taking place on 4 December 2023 at the Royal Albert Hall, the Fashion Awards also act as the principal fundraiser for the BFC Foundation, a charitable fund nurturing the work of emerging designers and supporting the British fashion industry at large.

The nominees announced today represent a shake-up of the Fashion Awards categories, starting with the addition of British Menswear Designer of the Year and British Womenswear Designer of the Year categories. These will be awarded alongside the Designer of the Year category, for which the nominees have not yet been announced but for which international designers are eligible, with Valentino’s Pierpaolo Piccioli taking home the prize in 2022.

The Independent British Brand award has also been replaced by two New Establishment awards – one for menswear and one for womenswear – with nominees chosen for their needle-moving design work as well as the way in which they have grown and sustained their businesses.

The hotly-contested Model of the Year award remains but will for the first time be voted on by the public, in addition to the key industry figures who vote on all Fashion Award categories. Recipients of the returning Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator, Outstanding Achievement Award, Leader of Change, as well as numerous Special Recognition Awards, have yet to be announced.

See a full list of the Fashion Awards 2023 nominees below:

Model of the Year

Alton Mason
Anok Yai
Kai-Isaiah Jamal
Liu Wen
Mona Tougaard
Paloma Elsesser

British Menswear Designer of the Year

Grace Wales Bonner for Wales Bonner
Kiko Kostadinov for Kiko Kostadinov
Kim Jones for Dior Men
Martine Rose for Martine Rose
Steven Stokey-Daley for S.S.Daley

British Womenswear Designer of the Year

Erdem Moralıoğlu for Erdem
Maximilian Davis for Ferragamo
Nensi Dojaka for Nensi Dojaka
Roksanda Ilinčić for Roksanda
Simone Rocha for Simone Rocha

New Establishment Menswear

Bianca Saunders
Labrum London
Nicholas Daley
Saul Nash

New Establishment Womenswear

Chopova Lowena
Dilara Fındıkoğlu
Robert Wun
Supriya Lele

Read more: The essential guide to the SS24 fashion month